Title I Schools of Recognition Awards

Title I Schools of Recognition Awards
Posted on 04/03/2020
This is the image for the news article titled Title I Schools of Recognition Awards

We are proud to announce that five of our schools have received Wisconsin Title I Schools of Recognition for the 2019-2020 school year. These schools are: 

Frank Lloyd Wright Intermediate School 
Horace Mann Elementary School 
Longfellow Elementary School 
Pershing Elementary School 
Wilson Elementary School

Since 2003, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI) has recognized Title I schools that have demonstrated success in educating students. To be eligible, schools must receive federal Title I funding to provide services to large numbers or high percentages of economically disadvantaged children and meet other achievement criteria.

These awards recognize the work of students and their parents along with teachers, school administrators, and school staff members to break the link between poverty and low academic achievement.  

Title 1 Schools of Recognition are in the top 25 percent of high-poverty schools in the state and have above average student achievement in reading and mathematics when compared to schools from similarly sized districts, schools, grade configurations, and poverty levels.   

“We are proud of this recognition,” said Superintendent Dr. Marty Lexmond. “We are committed to ensuring that our students are college, career, and life ready. We want them to be ready to live their lives on their own terms.”