The Metropolitan Milwaukee Alliance of Black School Educators Host Gala to Honor Teachers

The Metropolitan Milwaukee Alliance of Black School Educators Host Gala to Honor Teachers
Posted on 05/03/2019
This is the image for the news article titled The Metropolitan Milwaukee Alliance of Black School Educators  Host Gala to Honor Teachers

The following teachers were nominated by their principals to be honored at the 14th-annual Teacher Recognition Gala sponsored by the Metropolitan Milwaukee Alliance of Black School Educators (MMABSE).  MMABSE recognizes exemplary educators who teach from the heart and make the “impossible” possible for all students.

Central High SchoolAngela Gerloski

Ms. Gerloski puts children first. She provides leadership and she is innovative. Her work reflects an awareness of the challenges facing minority students.

Hale High SchoolRobert Kuenzi

Mr. Kuenzi positively influences the lives of students and colleagues through his leadership. He leads the student mentorship program, he’s the Instructional Chair of the Social Studies Department and a drummer for Haleallica (student/teacher music collaboration)!

James E. Dottke High School - Shelly LaCourt-Braun

Ms. LaCourt-Braun exhibits an exemplary work ethic that produces results for the GEDO#2 Program. She is a patient, committed, and relentless advocate for students.

Frank Lloyd Wright Intermediate School - Kelly Dodge

Ms. Dodge goes above and beyond for kids and staff. She is a positive, collaborative, and student-centered teacher.

Lane Intermediate School - Cortney Merten

Ms. Merten is a role model for all. She willingly accepts challenges and sets high expectations for herself and her students. Her instruction impacts student achievement. She is a leader in education.

West Milwaukee Intermediate School - Holly Skelton

Ms. Skelton leads her peers, works tirelessly on her craft, and is the driving force behind a strong school culture.

Franklin Elementary School - Amanda Hayes

Ms. Hayes is an incredible teacher that works to form strong relationships with every student in her classroom. Her personal challenge is to earn the trust of every child, especially those who are most resistant to become connected. She has also created an innovative PBIS system for the school.

Hoover Elementary School - Elizabeth Gold

Ms. Gold is one of our strongest teachers. She ensures that all students reach their potential by being equitable and providing students with what they need to succeed.

Irving Elementary School - Christina Martello

Ms. Martello exemplifies excellence in her service to students. She provides equitable opportunities for all while embracing trauma-sensitive practices for those that need additional support.

Jefferson Elementary School - Jeff Braatz

Mr. Braatz demonstrates "100% of the time for 100% of the students" He also helps lead the Community Nurturing Program.

Longfellow Elementary School - Sadie Boss

Ms. Boss makes a difference for students and teachers everyday. Her instruction, coaching, and collaboration helps build the school's capacity for serving all students.

Madison Elementary School - Jacquelynn Bazylewicz

Ms. Bazylewicz goes above and beyond. She embraces the belief that all students can learn by creating authentic experiences for students that emphasize the importance of being a self-directed learner.

Horace Mann Elementary School - Melissa Vandeville

Ms. Vandeville's strong community building leads to academic and social success for students.

General Mitchell Elementary School - Kelly Rostermundt

Ms. Rostermundt creates excellent projects and authentic experiences for her students. She has great energy and ideas.

Pershing Elementary School - Kathryn Robertson

Ms. Robertson is a team player. She is an exceptional leader and works hard to build capacity in others.

Walker Elementary School - Amanda Barber

Ms. Barber is an outstanding educator who is willing to go above and beyond to improve student learning. Her dedication to educating students and adults is exceptional.

Wilson Elementary School - Amanda Hendrickson & Brittany Verbanic

Both Ms. Hendrickson and Ms. Verbanic demonstrate an exemplary commitment to students and families. They possess a rare combination of characteristics including intelligence, compassion, and a tireless work ethic.