Collaboration Station Party a Success!

Collaboration Station Party a Success!
Posted on 04/23/2019
This is the image for the news article titled  Collaboration Station Party a Success!

On April 22, 2019, Art students represented their schools in the first West Allis-West Milwaukee School District Collaboration Station Party.

“Our teams were led by High School students,” explains Art Curriculum Lead, Dan Walker. “Each group was  asked to imagine, design, and build a community space. It’s an opportunity for students to use their art vocabulary and communication skills.”

“These activities support our deeper learning work,” said Leadership and Learning Director, Deidre Roemer. “When students work in teams, the challenge is to make sure creative ideas and individual skills come together. Collaboration skills are really important for college and career readiness.”

The Collaboration Station is a program designed to raise awareness for the importance of working with others to accomplish a common artistic vision. Students used a variety of materials and innovative construction techniques for their projects. The teacher nominated participants were:

High School Team Leaders
Mason Wheat- Hale
Victoria Williams- Hale
Maggie Marcinkiewicz- Hale
Lynsey Cottreau- Hale
Jen Doyle- Hale
Kyra Slonieczny- Hale

Middle School Artists
Bridget Done- West Milwaukee
Bryce Evans- West Milwaukee
Simon Paulson- West Milwaukee
Vinni O'Grady- Lane
Seija Freiberg- Lane
Elianna Tatum- Lane
Shemiah Hasan- Lane
Emmalie Wheat- FLW
Mackenzie Lancione- FLW
Christian Mazaba- FLW

Elementary Artists
Angie Verdugo- Franklin
Madison Bainbridge- Horace Mann
Hawken Boettcher- Horace Mann
Amani Caragena Kidd- Jefferson
Tina Czerwinski- Jefferson
Hailey Gartmann- Longfellow
Tilly Filter- Longfellow
Lilly Koiviac- General Mitchell
Ren Devera- Pershing
Josh Beattie- Walker
Matt Beattie- Walker
MacKenzie Dent- Wilson
Lorelei Nabak- Wilson
Makyla Sheehan-Nosek- Madison
Amy Le Flore- Madison