WAWM Schools Receive Community Partnership Award

WAWM Schools Receive Community Partnership Award
Posted on 12/09/2016
This is the image for the news article titled WAWM Schools Receive Community Partnership Award

We are proud to announce that the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee College of Health Sciences recently awarded the prestigious 2016 Community Partnership Award to the West Allis-West Milwaukee School District’s speech-language pathology department.

This award specifically recognizes the extraordinary contributions of three speech-language pathologists who work in the WAWM School District. They are Lindsay Lauters, M.S., CCC-SLP with Franklin Elementary School, Jill Vanderhoef, M.S., CCC-SLP with West Milwaukee Intermediate School and Franklin Elementary School, and Sarah Zapien, M.S., CCC-SLP with Wilson Elementary School.

These three speech-language pathologists have achieved exceptional results with the students by implementing the most current, engaging, evidence-based therapies. They have also shared their remarkable skills and knowledge with future speech-language pathologists at UW-Milwaukee.

Lindsay, Jill, and Sarah volunteer countless hours each year supervising graduate student clinicians, providing observation experiences for undergraduate students, and sharing their expertise through various lectures and presentations at UW-Milwaukee.

The College of Health Sciences is committed to improving the health and well-being of the community. This work is made possible through collaboration and exceptional partnerships. We recognize and applaud Lindsay Lauters, Jill Vanderhoef, and Sarah Zapien for receiving the 2016 Community Partnership Award.